Created in 2005 to promote Dubai as one of the world's leading golfing destinations and to underline Dubai's other international attractions to a worldwide audience, golf in DUBAi promotes and organises major European Tour events — the Omega Dubai Desert Classic and the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters — and the Asian Tour’s DUBAi Open.

‘golf in DUBAi’ established the Shaikh Maktoum Golf Foundation in 2006 to encourage and promote emerging Arab talent on the world stage.  As part of the foundation's initiative, it started the MENA Golf Tour in 2011 to provide a much-needed springboard for both amateurs and professional to take their game to a new level.

In 2015, European Ryder Cup captain and Major winner Darren Clarke of Northern Ireland was appointed as the Patron the MENA Golf Tour.

The tour, which seeks to create new windows of playing opportunities for all MENA national professionals and amateurs for the overall development of golf in the region, has since grown from four events in the inaugural 2011 season to 10 in 2015.

The MENA Golf Tour instituted the Shaikh Maktoum Golf Foundation Award in 2014 to honour leading Arab professional and amateur players in a fresh move to spice up the competition and boost the presence of the region's talent. Open to MENA nationals, the award recognizes the top-3 amateur and professional performances at every MENA Golf Tour event.

In 2009, 'golf in DUBAi' became a part of the Investment Corporation of Dubai (ICD), a vital and key initiative of the Government of Dubai for achieving all-round excellence. 

Some of the most respected golfers in the world, stars such as England's Dame Laura Davies, Stephen Gallacher (Scotland), India's Jeev Milkah Singh (India), Thomas Bjorn (Denmark), Faycal Serghini (Morocco), Zane Scotland, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Joshua White (all England) are the global ambassadors of 'golf in DUBAi’ along with renowned coach Peter Cowen.

golf in DUBAi's contribution in promoting golf in the region was recognized at the highest level when it was honoured with the Shaikh Mohammed bin Rashid Award in 2014 for their contribution to the enrichment of the sports movement in the UAE.